Knights

F. C. Weidmann describes the knights tomb, as it was in 1839, as follows: "In the same we caught a glimpse first and foremost of the burial chapel, or so-called knights tomb. It contains works of art that are very well worth seeing. The chapel was built in the old German style. It is 20 feet long and 8 feet wide, and closed at the front with a grille that one can look through. Above the portal there is the Austrian-Spanish coat of arms, a stonemasons work of the XV century, brought here from the imperial archive. In the background of the chapel, ones gaze is captivated first by the lustre and brilliance of a magnificent glass painting, transferred here from the parish church in the town of Steyr ...

In particular, the shining colours create a truly magical effect in the light of the setting sun. Moreover, magnificent old German oil paintings can be found on the walls of the chapel ... On the floor of the chapel there is a gravestone, brought here from Mauerbach..."

RittergruftThe knights tomb lies at the edge of the Eichenhain, a grove of oaks, and "looks like a cloud sunken into the earth, whose mighty hipped roof came to rest on the ground in the midst of a group of slender white poplars" (Otto Benesch between the two world wars). Three poplars in very poor condition are still concealed in the dense woods and recall a once romantic motif.